ŕ—»Ū  18 Feb 2020

  • Media Center
  • News
  • News

    1. News
    2. Features
    3. MCIT in Press

    Three Egyptian Companies Selected for Domain Name Registration Services under the Arabic Country Code Top Level Domain of Egypt (.masr)

    Date published: 18 April 2010

    NTRA has concluded its review and evaluation of the offers submitted by the different entities, interested in providing domain name registration services under the Arabic ccTLD of Egypt, in reply to the RFP posted earlier on the NTRA website.

    Accordingly, three Egyptian companies have been selected, to be granted a domain name registration license, namely: TE Data, InTouch (owner of Link) and Vodafone Data.  This step will enable all users to register domain names in Arabic through any of the selected companies. 

    Moreover, NTRA will be also granting the Egyptian Universities Network (EUN) a license to provide governmental, academic and educational entities Arabic domain name registration services under the Arabic ccTLD of Egypt. 

    These steps are expected to boost Arabic content on the Internet and create new market opportunities.  It is also expected that this will allow new user segments to overcome the current language barrier and maximize their benefit from Internet services.

    About NTRA
    The National Telecommunications Regulatory Authority (NTRA) acts as an independent and prudent arbiter among the different ICT sector stakeholders: the industry, the state and consumers. Founded in 2003 according to the Telecommunications Regulation law as a national authority to administer the telecommunication sector, the scope of its work, as a general outline, covers issues related to transparency, open competition, universal service and the protection of user rights.

    Media Contact

    For media-related inquiries, please contact our media relations representative.

    Affiliate Organizations Related Institutions
    Contact Us  |  Feedback  | Site Map  |  DisclaimerPrivacy Statement  |  MCIT RSS Copyright Ministry of Communications and Information Technology 1999-2020. All rights reserved