ÚÑÈí  25 Sep 2020

  • Media Center
  • News
  • News

    1. News
    2. Features
    3. MCIT in Press

    ‘Qodwa-Tech’ Among Top Five WSIS Prizes 2020 Projects

    Date published: 26 February 2020
    “Qodwa-Tech” initiative for empowering Egyptian women, of the Central Department for Community Development at the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology (MCIT), has been listed among the world’s top five projects at the World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS) Prizes 2020, for “The role of governments and all stakeholders in the promotion of ICTs for development” category, after competing with 20 other projects.

    This adds to the list of MCIT achievements at the international level. The initiative passed the final voting stage, application and nomination for the final list for selection. Winners are announced at WSIS Forum 2020.

    This came as a result of the voting and promoting efforts exerted by all international partners, local and regional entities, individuals and civil society organizations concerned with sustainable development. This also acts as an incentive to exert more efforts to continue developing and leading, to carry out the best projects and initiatives to serve citizens in community development areas, using ICTs.

    MCIT is keen on achieving integration and high quality in building and implementing development models through its different projects. Qodwa-Tech, accordingly, seeks to invest the creative energies of Egyptian women and create an enabling environment to help them innovate and lead, through technology training programs for capacity building.

    This is in addition to keeping up with the digital needs and changes, achieving digital inclusion of women and encouraging them to attain optimal utilization of ICT tools and solutions.

    WSIS Prizes is a competition organized by the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), in collaboration with the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) and the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). The competition includes 18 categories, in each one of which the best applications and accomplishments that harness ICT to implement WSIS and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) outcomes are selected.

    Media Contact

    For media-related inquiries, please contact our media relations representative.

    Affiliate Organizations Related Institutions
    Contact Us  |  Feedback  | Site Map  |  DisclaimerPrivacy Statement  |  MCIT RSS Copyright Ministry of Communications and Information Technology 1999-2020. All rights reserved