ÚÑÈí  13 Jul 2020

  • Media Center
  • News
  • News

    1. News
    2. Features
    3. MCIT in Press

    Oracle Internet Safety Applications Competition Winners Announced

    Date published: 22 January 2015
    Within the framework of the efforts of the National Committee for Child Online Safety, a celebration is to hold today at the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology (MCIT)-in the presence of the ICT Minister Atef Helmy-to announce winners of Oracle Internet Safety Applications Competition. Five winners out of 50 contestants (14- 15 years old) from Sohag, Asswan and Port Said were announced.

    The National Committee for Child Online Safety launched three contests during the Safer Internet Day in February 2014 where MCIT organized a conference for this occasion, in cooperation with local and international ICT companies, on top of which are Vodafone- Egypt, Oracle, and Microsoft.

    This comes in the context of stakeholders’ social responsibility and out of the State’s keenness to secure children and youth protection and raise awareness through the safe use of internet.

    Using Oracle’s Java, Alice, Green Foot training program, contestants presented 40 e-applications until August 2014, in order to raise children awareness of internet risks. A number of experts and specialists evaluated the applications before announcing winners.

    The National Committee for Child Online Safety was launched in June 2013, following the path of the national workgroup concerned with online safety, which was formed between October 2009 and January 2012.

    Its goal was to activate a national strategy for protecting and empowering children online with the belief that empowerment is key to online protection.

    Media Contact

    For media-related inquiries, please contact our media relations representative.

    Affiliate Organizations Related Institutions
    Contact Us  |  Feedback  | Site Map  |  DisclaimerPrivacy Statement  |  MCIT RSS Copyright Ministry of Communications and Information Technology 1999-2020. All rights reserved